My Testimony on Peace

Peace is not the absence of conflict, that’s just quietness. The peace Jesus promised in John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” is inward peace; the mutual harmony between ourselves and God type of inward peace. It is a sure sign that the battle between us and God is resolved and that we have accepted He was right all along.

When I began in earnest to write my book I still wasn’t declaring that I was indeed writing a book. I left the possibility open that I was wrong about it or that the studying would lead in a different direction. Yes, I wanted it to be for a book but I wanted God’s will first and foremost. A few months into the work I yielded to the idea that God was truly allowing me to work on this project as a book that would be a help to people. And that surrender brought peace.

Even now as I write this I am reminded of a time a few years ago. For nearly 10 years I was out of church, out of God’s will, and fighting Him for control of my life. For a couple of years I would take inventory of my life and measure my happiness by what all I had gotten. Yet I still knew something was missing, but couldn’t place my finger on it.

Then one day it happened. The night before I had gone to bed wondering why I felt so miserable, what was I missing? The next morning I shot up in bed with the word ‘PEACE’ flying from my lips. There had been no dreams that I remember having to lead me this way; nor any conversations with anyone about my concern. It was the Holy Spirit who answered my question.

In John 14:26 Jesus promised that the Holy Ghost would be ‘the comforter’. And that He would teach us all things and help us to remember what we have forgotten. Now here I was backslidden, out of church, and not even interested in ever going back. Yet God still loved me and wanted me back.

The peace this world tries to offer is cheap and short lived. While we may try to squash God’s peace, discount it, or run from it; guess what! He gave it to His children, it’s ours to reclaim whenever we want too. Just come back to Him.

For those who are battling, you guessed it! Stand solidly on that foundation of peace (Ephesians 6:15 “And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace”. The chaos might be deafening all around you but His peace can and will carry you through, if you let it. Which means your feet must be properly shod (equipped). His peace looks the impossible in the face and still goes forward to victory!

Leave a Reply

