THE LIVING WORD BEARS FRUIT

Isaiah 55:11 “So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.”

Hebrews 4:12 “For the word of  God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword…”

Here in the book of Hebrews is an interesting word, quick.  Usually when we see it we think ‘fast’ yet that is not what the word means here. The word means to be alive, living. The Bible is not some dead bunch of words filling up space it is ALIVE and God’s word gets results.

And i don’t  just mean in the sense of preaching from it. Yes we have pretty much all seen the little note of encouragement of how the devil reacts based on what you do with your Bible, getting headaches and sick, etc. But because the Bible is alive and gets the results God intends for it we can testify of how great God is.

I have seen it happen, the Bible on its own getting thru to people. One day while eating lunch I was reading my Bible and the waitress asked me if I was reading the Bible, which led to how many times, which led  to the opportunity for  me to witness to her. I saw her again a week or so later  and she had asked Jesus to save her. I didn’t  start the conversation the Bible did.

Then yesterday I broke down in my delivery truck. A tow truck had to come get me. When he arrived I went and got warm in his truck while he hooked mine up to tow it back. While i was waiting I asked God to give me the words to speak to this man. After we got out onto the road before I could say much of anything he asked if I was a Christian.

See on the dashboard of my truck I keep a Bible. And when he went to secure the steering wheel he saw it. As it turned out he is a brother  in Christ who has gotten away from the Lord a little bit there and had been thinking about going back to church. The broken fan belt in my delivery  truck had inconvenienced me but God was using it to reach a wayward son. Before he spoke to me God had spoken to him by the  presence of HIS WORD. God can do that because his word is alive and gets his results.

Carrying that Bible is a testimony but don’t  stop there. Read it. Learn it. Love it. 2 Timothy 2:15.

Leave a Reply

