SHARING TIME

Matthew 10:8 “...freely ye have received, freely give.” Now I understand that when it comes to books credit must be given where credit is due. In the course of writing my forthcoming book I have had to site my sources for quotes and statistics. It is part of the cost of producing a book. And also part of the cost of producing a book is that generally speaking someone has to pay money for the book, to cover such things as the time and effort involved in producing the book.

But there are times when you get to share what you have gotten for free. All that it costs you is the time to do it.

The other day I ran into someone who I haven’t seen in months. She is a Christian lady who is a cashier at one of the places I have to visit during my work day. We have often spoken about the Bible as she is studying her Sunday school lesson on her break. And I have missed our discussions. In fact as soon as she saw me she asked about the verses for her Sunday school lessons and what I knew about them. It launched us into a 15 minute discussion that bounced back and forth between John, Matthew, and Luke. For me it was fun and I do believe she enjoyed it as well.

This lady has a heart to learn more about God and will listen and speak up. Which is important, it is not just a matter of letting me run my mouth till I leave and then continue as if nothing had happened. Interaction is very important to the learning process. Think about it, when Mary and Joseph found Jesus after searching for him Luke tells us in 2:46 “… they found him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the doctors, both hearing them, and asking them questions.” Jesus as a 12 year old boy was interacting with those who were so educated. He listened, asked questions, and gave answers. So this is a biblical principle that we ALL should be following.

Now I am not bragging by any means, but I do so enjoy passing along to others what I have learned about God’s word. And it thrills me when I come across someone who wants to learn as well. I imagine that is how my pastor feels. He has been more than willing to share his wealth of knowledge, he has taught different classes on off days about church, and I can’t tell you how many books he has bought with his own money to freely give to various people to help them learn about the Bible.

To follow the edict Jesus gave in our text verse doesn’t mean that the knowledge comes free, there is a price of some sort to be paid for it. Whether it be by buying a book or sitting in church/school listening to what is being said or studying on your own it costs money and/or time. The freely should mean you are doing this because of love. Do you love to studying the Bible or is it something you have to do? Are you passing along what you have learned because you love to share with others or because you want to turn a profit?

So as I stated earlier, we may have to pay for books and such to cover the various costs and that is understandable. After all the Bible does state in Matthew 10:10 “…for the workman is worthy of his meat” or as we might would put it today he has earned his paycheck. While passing along to others may not put money in your pocket the satisfaction of passing along what God has so lovingly shared with you is kind of intoxicating. It can make you want to do it some more, yearn to do it again, and miss it when you go a long time without. Why? Because of the love factor.

We should all want to grow in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ (2 Peter 3:18). And we should all want to help each other to grow as well. This race we are running for the prize of the high calling (Philippians 3:14) is not a typical human race; no it is a Godly race. In this race it is not a matter of trying to finish first and leave everyone else in our dust. Here we are to lift each other up so that we all advance TOGETHER. What a noble concept. Little wonder why Jesus said “freely ye have received, freely give.”

If I may, how do you share? Do you even share at all?

Leave a Reply

