Today at 4 a.m.

So 4o’clock on Sunday morning came pretty fast today. Normally I like to get up around this time on Sunday so I can do a little Bible study or post sermons from my church to sermonaudio.com. But I have been a little under the weather the past few days and probably would have slept until five today. I was having some good dreams, at least I remember them as having been good what little I can recall of them. Truth be told I was so out of it that I had no idea it was after midnight much less four a.m.
What woke me was a very loud and deliberate throat clearing from my daughter. She has Cerebral Palsy and had crawled into our bedroom. My daughter needed to use the potty and has to have help to do so. Momma got up and helped her I layer there figuring everyone would go back to bed because it just had to be around midnight. Next thing I know I hear my wife say that our daughter is wide awake, it is four, and she needs to go back to sleep because she is working in the nursery at church today.
My mind quickly told my body to get up while it stayed in bed!
I got up put my wife back to bed and took my daughter into the living room. She wasn’t hungry but said her thumb hurt. I got her an ice pack, we keep several in the freezer, and a couple of pain pills. I didn’t see anything wrong with her thumb but with her cerebral palsy she has a lot of issues with pain and bruising. Also when she gets up like this and momma wants to go back to bed it usually leads to problems. She wants momma, she is overly attached to her, and worries momma will leave her or won’t get up (even though it will have only been a few minutes).
Today was different, we came into the living room I sat on the couch and she crawled over in front of me and leaned against my leg. For this morning she was just fine having daddy. I asked if she wanted the t.v. on she said no. Again I asked if she was hungry, still no. I checked facebook on my phone while she just leaned on my leg.
Eventually I noticed a small bag of animal crackers that they must have been munching on after I went to bed. Playfully I marched an animal around to her mouth and she chomped down on it. So she was a little hungry! Another soon walked around her shoulder heading toward her mouth and it quickly disappeared. Soon more animal crackers met the same fate. Only a half dozen or so, I didn’t want to over do it.
About 5 my leg was feeling so numb I had to try and move it and I did. She looked at me and I told her I had to move she said ok and laid down. As I had thought she was tired and ready to go back to sleep. I asked if she wanted a pillow, she said yes. Then I gave her a blanket we keep next to the couch. The lamp that I had turned on a little after four a.m. went off about an hour afterward. She too went out.
As I lay here on the couch slowly typing away I can’t  help but think about that we Christians thanks to our sin nature are crippled spiritually in much the same way. We need our Heavenly Father to help us to do everything  (Philippians 4:13) we lean on Him to get our rest (Matthew 11:28-30) and anything that bothers us bothers Him so we should bring it to Him (1 Peter 5:7).
Lord I believe, help my unbelief.

Leave a Reply

