Part of The Body of Christ

Last October I had the opportunity to return to the church building where I surrendered to God’s call to be a preacher. Although it is now a Spanish church the people there were wonderful. When I first walked inside it felt like I had come home. Truly I had missed going there. But the church is not a building; it is the body of believers.
I don’t speak Spanish but I did have a brother in Christ introduce me and translate what I said. The pastor doesn’t speak English so the sermon was unintelligible to me. However one young man came and sat beside me and did his best to get me over to where we were reading from the Bible.
As I said I don’t speak the language but I do know that this man of God was preaching what thus saith the Lord. I truly believe he was on fire for God that night. Many went up to the altar when the invitation was given.
Afterward most of the people came by and shook my hand. Those who spoke English told me they were glad to have me there. This body of believers made me feel welcomed.
When visitors walk in the door of our local assembly how good of a job do we do to make them feel welcomed there? For that matter how good of a job do we do to let each other know how glad we are to see them here? Not just our favorite people but everyone. Sometimes there are regular attendees who are hurting inside and they need someone to remind them that they are loved. Let’s all try a little harder.
1 Corinthians 12:12 “For as the body is one, and hath many members, and all the members of thst one body, being many, are one body: so also is Christ.”

Leave a Reply

