Sensing memories

Our five senses aid us in many ways. They help to guild us, discern things, and bring back old memories. Occasionally they get worn down or even lost.
This morning about 4am as I was walking from my delivery truck to a gas station to get some chips my senses took me back in time. The darkness of the night that I saw around me, the coolness of the early morning air on my skin, and the sound of some birds chirping away in a nearby tree caused me to think of being down south. My dad always preferred to leave on vacation around 1am to avoid traffic in the big cities we would have to pass through as well as to save on using the air conditioning. We would have times where we would pause in our traveling to stretch our legs, use a restroom, and get gas. This memory has surfaced many times in my life and will many more. It always takes me back to Tennessee and Kentucky. Driving for a living doesn’t remind me of those trips but those triggers employ my senses to stir up my memory. Never do I “fondly” remember the trip or for that matter negatively remember it, just that pause in the journey comes to mind.
I am glad that we are made in God’s image. He uses those same five senses to help us relate to Him.
He hears as we hear, 2 Chronicles 7:14 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and will turn from their wicked ways; then will I HEAR from heaven , and will forgive their sins, and will heal their land.” When He hears us repent He will remember His promise to restore us.
God sees as we see, Genesis 9:16 “And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will LOOK upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth.” Seeing that rainbow reminds all that God promised to never destroy the whole Earth again by water.
He can smell as we can smell, though His “tastes” are different from what we mortals would expect. Ephesians 5:2 “And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetSMELLing savour.” Obedience smells great to God. And our obedience reminds Him of Jesus’ obedience.
God can touch people and things as man can and to an even greater degree. Luke  7:14 ” And he came and TOUCHed the bier [casket]: and they that bare him stood still. And he said, Young man I say unto thee, Arise.” By the way that word touched here means to grab a hold of, to fasten on to. Jesus loved to touch people, He didn’t always use a physical touch to do it but He sure did a lot. Here His touch brought not only a memory back but brought an only child back to life. And His touch of salvation restores the spiritually dead to life.
That leaves us with TASTE. We have many instances of Jesus eating. He even as a sign to His disciples that He had truly risen again ate some broiled fish and a honeycomb, Luke 24:42,43. But I wanted this sense to also be associated with a memory, and that lead to a promise as well. Typically when we eat or drink we taste what is coming into our mouths, so while the word TASTE is not used in this verse the implication is all over what is said. Matthew 26:29 :But I say unto you, I will not drink henceforth of tjis fruit of the vine, until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.” He remembered this promise so in the upper room after He arose He didn’t  ask for anything to drink because it might get people confused and make Him out like a liar. But one day we (those who are blood bought) will all TASTE the marriage supper of the Lamb. He has promised it to us.

image

Leave a Reply

