What I got for working

Yesterday was a very nice day here in the Chicagoland area. So nice in fact I decided to try and get some work done around the outside of my house. I do admit I didn’t get everything done but it was enough to call it a successful day.
My backyard is covered over with outdoor carpet, I have the greenest back lawn around, but that was covered with all these whirlly-bird seeds. About half an hour later all the seeds were gone and I sprayed all my weeds to kill them off. Me and my wife went to a couple of stores for some supplies and came home to tackle the next project.
In between our house and our neighbor is an open piece of land where a house once stood. The city knocked it down and the bank gave the land to me and my neighbor. Once the house was gone the company that demolished it did a half-hearted job on spreading grass seed. This resulted in a bit of a mess as that every time it rained mud washed onto the sidewalk and ruts were created in the landscape. My neighbor went out a few weeks ago and did a better job of spreading more seed.
The size of the job really requires sod but neither of us has that much money. Some of the seed he spread did take and from the street it looks good. While closer inspection says otherwise. We knew going in it will take 3 or 4 attempts at seeding in order to really get it growing.
So yesterday I figured it was my turn to help. Having bought a big bag of seed I pictured me and my wife going out there and raking the ground spreading the seed and turning on the water. Yeah, it didn’t go quite like I had planned. I raked a 20 x 40 section and called it quits. The ground was so hard even though my neighbor has been watering it, as well as all the rain we had last week. The spreader came out, seeds flew, garden hose was run, and my wife got me some pain meds.
I am old and out of shape. My arms and shoulders were feeling the burn and I worked up a friction blister on my hand from not wearing any gloves. The little progress, about 1/5th of the total area, was a disappointment. The experience taught me that I need to step up my physical activity and the blister showed the need to be better prepared.
Having stopped up front I turned my attention back to the rear of the house. Our fountain died a couple of weeks back and I finally found a replacement pump for it. Our honeysuckle needed to be trimmed some and the roses needed to be watered and sprayed for bugs. Even though something lives on our property it still needs to be looked after. Life outside of ourselves requires interaction if it is to thrive.
The Christian life is much the same way, we need that interaction with other Christians. Hebrews 10:25 “Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together,  as the manner of done is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.” God wants us to interact not only with Him (praying, reading Bible, singing, being in church) but with each other. By getting together we encourage one another, learn from one another, and laugh with one another. To go it alone is to doom self to failure. We are to pray fir one another even when there seems to be nothing to pray about (1 Samuel 12:23).  Perhaps in the process we work up some blisters or callous’, get tired spiritually from the work load, or even use muscles we forgot we have. When we go to work for the Lord it will be worth it. One day the grass will be there and green as can be and so will be the heavenly rewards, rich as can be.

Leave a Reply

