Pray about it

Philippians 4:6 “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.”

The word “careful” means anxious or full of worry. God doesn’t want us to filling our lives with worry and stress; we get enough of that stuff from the world without us trying to horde it in our selves.  No, He has commanded us to turn it all over to him.  If it causes us concern then it concerns Him.

Today I received an email from my publisher with a marketing offer for my book. It would place a nice size ad in a catalog that goes out nationwide and will also be at the next trade show (if I understand it correctly). To be honest I don’t have the money laying around to just say yes. So with that in mind I sent out a text to some friends asking them to pray for me for wisdom on this matter.

My concern with it is is it God’s will. By doing this am I saying God I don’t think you can do it alone so I must help out any way I can or would I being kicking at God and what He is leading me to do because of the money and being too afraid of making a mistake by doing it.

A few of months back I preached a sermon out of Ezekiel 47:1-6 titled “How deep are you willing to go?” (it is available on sermonaudio.com for free to listen or download).  The basic premise was when it comes to God’s blessings and miracles they are only limited by how far and deep we are willing to go in them. Then today I read a blog post from a friend of mine (Brett Clayton- Clayton Chronicles) a blog entitled “Miraculous Miracles” dealing with the first miracle Jesus performed. Again the results were only limited by the obedience to His instructions. They were fully followed and everyone benefited from it.  What really caught my eye was the last line of his 3rd point, ‘Just do it’ as the slogan for Nike would say”.

I would like to share something here, that word or in this case brand name ‘Nike’ appears one time in the Bible over in 1 John 2:13.  In that verse it is translated “overcome“, it also means victory.  See when we set about praying for an answer from God we will receive the victory.  The answer may not be what we want but it will be what we need, and that is far more important.

While I may not have the money to do this ad campaign, it can be tacked onto my already existing account (one more payment would be all). The value of the possible impact can potentially far outweigh the value of the monetary aspect. This isn’t a book about rocks or history. To be honest, it is a book that deals directly with SUICIDE, what it is, and how we can help someone or even ourselves.  The more people who are given the chance to read it the more likely someone will get some help that they might not have otherwise.  I am not trying to puff myself up here, honest. I’m just trying to do what I feel the Lord would have me to do.  And prayer is a big part of that.

Leave a Reply

