Keys

image

On my job I have a few keys that I have to use each day. Some locks are a bit trickier than others to open and today I forgot about one such lock. I placed the key in the door and turned it nice and quickly but I forgot to do the trick.
With a couple of doors I deal with I have to remember to do something to the door. Some doors have alarms on them, one door the lock is messed up and can start to lock but then springs back into place while the key turns as if you locked it so I must pull on the door afterward to make sure it locked. A couple of doors have to be kicked. Yes kicked and not just once 2-3 times! This was one of those doors. However I forgot to kick it at the critical time; quickly the key bent badly. What I hadn’t realized was that the lock had also turned which meant I had the same resistance now going the other way. Yep, the key broke right off. I do have some locksmith tools, but they are at home and I was a good 20 miles away. I do keep a utility knife in my pocket which has a small pair of pliers in it.
There was just enough of the key sticking out to get a hold of, so I was able to finish turning the key back and removed thr broken piece.
There was no need to panic I figured, because I have a spare set of keys in my truck. The picture contains but a few that I have built up over the last 13 years. There are keys in thst pile for businesses that went under years ago. Keys for locks that have been changed several times over the years. Most importantly there was a spare key in there, or at least I thought so.
I honestly tried to match every key to that broken piece. Twice I got back out of the truck to check a key that in the low light of my delivery truck looked about right. With only a half dozen keys left to check of maybe close to 100 I started to get a little nervous. My mind nd began to wonder if I had really made an extra key for this lock or not. When the last one was checked, yeah I got a little bit more nervous. Last time I checked I was still human so doubts are normal.
At this point I was left with 2 options. I could wait for the local locksmith to open in about 4 hours and have him make a new key from the broken one along with a copy or try one more time to find the match. I opted to mind the match and I found it. Yes once the locksmith opened I made a new copy of the key for the next time.
As I type this I can’t help but think of Job. He said in Job 19:25 “For I know my redeemer liveth”. How did he know this? He had 3 keys at the ready.
#1 The Key of Possession “my”. Jesus said in John 20:17 “…my Father, and your Father; and to my God, and your God.” Jesus showed us that with God possession is more important than position. Relationship is better because it means He won’t disown me.
#2 The Key of Redemption “redeemer”. Paul tells us in Ephesians 1:7 “In whom we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of his grace”. The shed blood of Jesus redeems whoever accepts Jesus as their Saviour. We have been bought ir redeemed with a price (1 Cor. 6:20) that price again is the blood of Jesus!
#3 The Key of Guarantee “liveth”. So long as Jesus lives what He has promised is guaranteed. He cannot lie (Titus 1:2), God raised Him from the dead after He died on the cross (Acts 3:15; 4:10; 13:30; Romans 10:9; Galatians 1:1; Colossians 2:12; 1 Peter 1:21), and now Jesus lives for the very purpose of making intercession (being our advocate when we sin) to God for us when we ask for forgiveness. Until He dies and stays dead none of these KEYS will fail. We can trust God to keep us. Yes we will go through some rough times and have troubles and physical ailments (that is all part of life) but Jesus will go through it ALL with us. He did so for Job centuries before He walked on this Earth as a man and He still does it to this day by the indwelling of His Holy Spirit.
And we don’t have to worry about breaking those keys, looking them, or replacing them. Just trust Him.

Leave a Reply

