Over the Hill

I must admit I am over the hill, yes I am 40. And being 40 has not gone well. I have had issues with my right foot since September, various aches and pains, and now I have been knocked down by a kidney stone.
The Bible tells us that Methuselah lived to be 969 years old (Genesis 5:27). I can only imagine all the problems he had! The way I feel right now I wouldn’t want to see 100 let alone 900+, lol. But as they say, this too shall pass. By the way that phrase there usually gets attributed to the Bible but it is not found there, its just an old saying. Which is about as old as I feel.
As I sit here and type this I am reminded of another passage of scripture in Genesis 47 specifically in v9. Jacob is standing in the court of Pharoah and he had just asked Jacob how old he was. The reply Jacob made was that he hadn’t been around as long as his dad or grandfather. Be that as it may, Pharoah recognized that Jacob had a lot of mileage on him. Yet s n spite of all the wear and tear on his body the Bible records a couple of things for us in regards to Jacob here at his advanced age. He, a monad, blessed the mighty Pharoah. The greater always blesses the lesser and Jacob was a child of THE KING. Second in Hebrews 11:21 Jacob may have  been feeble physically but he still worshipped God. He leaned on his staff to do it but in his heart he was kneeling.
Our pain, troubles, and heartaches may take their toll on us physically and mentally but so long as we draw near the Lord, our Heavenly Father, they can’t bring us down spiritually. No matter where you are in life don’t get over the hill spiritually.

Leave a Reply

