Salt and fire

Mark 9:49,50 “For every one shall  be salted with fire, and every sacrifice shall be salted with salt. Salt is good: but if the salt have lost his saltness, wherewith will ye season it? Have salt in yourselves, and have peace one with another.” I have been thinking about this passage if scripture lately. There is a preacher friend of mine who seems to be in this way. It has been a couple of years since he last preached.
My friend was a man on fire for God. Who easily was a much better preacher than I am. As much as I wish I knew the details I am afraid I don’t know them, only some speculation. Rumors and gossip mean nothing, my concern is for my brother in Christ to get back his saltiness.
Salt makes one thirsty and spiritually speaking the way for anyone, especially a preacher, to quench that thirst is with the Water of the Word of God. But the verses quoted talk also about being salted with fire. Psalms 39: 3 “My heart was hot within me, while I was musing the fire burned” that word ‘musing’ means meditating and ‘burned’ means kindled. My prayer for my friend is that he will get back into the Bible like he used to and that the salt of the Word will kindle a fire in him like there once was. This world has done it’s best to put out his flame and I am asking each one that is willing to call upon our Heavenly Father to salt my friend. His name is not important because Jesus knows him completely. Just pray for the preacher who needs his saltness back.
Thank you.

One thought on “Salt and fire

Leave a Reply

