Tired but busy

I must say I am tired. Saturday is my early day but I have to run to get through it as quick as I do. Two Saturdays out of the month I have church related activities immediately following work. The first Saturday of each month I go to the local nursing home and hold a church service there for the residents and the fourth Saturday we have our men’s Bible study at church.
A couple of weeks ago on a Wednesday I stopped by a church near my house my church has Tuesday service) and gave the pastor there a copy of my book to look over and hopefully lead to a chance to come over and present it there. During the course of the service there I found out that they do a men’s Bible study every Saturday. Today I stopped by and enjoyed. The pastor is still working on it.
Doing this did not tire me out.
Tonight, with this being the fifth Saturday of the month, we have Saturday Night Live Preaching at our church. Pastor calls preachers from the floor and we usually get 15-20 minutes to preach. I have my sermon basically ready to go.
This is why I am tired. Wanting to serve my Lord and Savior. It is not that I am serving that is making me so tired, it is the enemy trying any which way to get me to not serve Jesus. Any excuse is fair game to that rascal. He will throw up every possible roadblock to keep me from serving Jesus.
Peter put it this way in 1 Peter 4:16 “Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you”. Some may say how can being sleepy be a fiery trial? It is a 20 minute drive to church and driving tired is dangerous, the longer the stretch of road the worse it gets. Plus the chances of getting a ticket that can’t be afforded as is, makes one think twice about it.
The things that tempt each of us differs and when it comes to tempting people about not going to church the amount that comes our way tends to grow. We generally like the easy way out. The less effort the better. Jesus however said we are to take up our cross and follow Him daily (Luke 9:23). We have enough bench warmers and no one has ever been called by God to be one. It is past time that we all start working out to become starters for the Lord. Effort is required but it will be worth it by and by.

2 thoughts on “Tired but busy

Leave a Reply

