Burnt Gary

There is a fellow whose blog I follow who for the longest time along with writing blogs he posts pictures of abandoned properties in his home state. At first I didn’t understand what the whole purpose for those photos. One day he posted in his blog the reason for why the photos make their way to his blog.
I won’t try to recount his exact reason for it but basically he is troubled by what he sees and who could blame him given the images.

image

My home church is located in Gary Indiana. This once great city has been on the decline for decades. The economy is so bad that roads cannot be properly taken care of, payroll for police and firefighters is a problem, and schools can’t get the needed funds to properly teach the students. Property taxes make it nearly impossible to sell a home which is compounded by the fact that most homes are hardly worth anything anymore. Often the only way it seems to get out is to pray for fire so the family can collect a little insurance money.

image

Since I have seen why bill the unfetteredpreacher posts his Neglected Carolina photos I have been paying ore attention to the houses I pass by. Perhaps I will even start taking more pics of them myself.
In John 16:33 Jesus said, “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” I look at these pictures of destruction and abandonment and think how many lives have been recked because of the tribulations that have come and people insisted on doing things their way instead of God’s way. And sin has burnt them out; while others have just walked away defeated.

image

Don’t let this world get you down. Don’t give into the depression sins brings with it. Come back to God and confess it. God wants to forgive us of our sins but He can’t until we come to Him.

One thought on “Burnt Gary

Leave a Reply

