Trying for an award

Recently I read a blog about book awards and that an author could enter their book into the contest themselves. The reason being to be able to slap a sticker on the front cover or have the cover retrofitted with the notification that it had won a award (or a few).
Yes, I did go check it out and while I know nothing is truly free (save Salvation through Jesus Christ) I felt the registration fees where too much. I know it is all part of marketing my book, the article I was reading said so, the different sites said so, I have heard about this kind of thing before, and I went looking there for it.
When I got there and began to check out the different sites I just didn’t like it. Recently I heard a program that dealt with how the Oscars are marketed. Not the Oscar’s themselves but those who want to be nominated and win. Just the nomination means more prestige and money but a win means a whole lot more of everything. No expense is spared and I don’t blame them. I personally just can’t do it, at the moment anyway. Perhaps because it feels like I would have cheated somehow or because no results are guaranteed (either to win or that the win will help sell the book).
I would rather have God reward me for the book. If He leads me in that direction then fine but my goal is to please Him. Which brings me to a verse I heard earlier today Hebrews 11:6 “But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarded of them that diligently seek him.” By having faith in God we can actually please Him. That is what I want my writings to do, please Him. My efforts to get my book out there for people to get help from should please Him and will thus please me. By the way the book is called, Suicide: The Bible and Today. The entirety of my life should be living by faith and pleasing God.
Buying one of those “awards” kinda comes off more as taking care of my own ego. There is a reward though for those who are striving to be faithful to God during this life. 1 Corinthians 9:25 “And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible.”  Any sticker bought and put on the book that says winner will only last for so long and it will fade into memory. The prize of the high calling of heaven will last for eternity.
I will continue to plug away on my book, maybe even write another one. More pastors will be contacted about possibly letting me come into their church to make a presentation on the book. For that matter I will even continue to write in my blog about it while at the same time trying to help educate and encourage you my readers. Why? Because I believe it is what God would have me to do.

Leave a Reply

