Out of the darkness

How is it that we recognize darkness? Because we know what is light.
Genesis 1:3,4 “And God said, Let there be light: and there was light. And God saw the light, that it was good: and God divided the light from the darkness.”
Early this morning as I was leaving a stop I saw the darkness. Stepping out from the well lit area I was enveloped by darkness which quickly turned to shades of gray. You see at first, once the light “ended” my eyes couldn’t make out what was there.

image

All that black space, what could be lurking there? Any number of things could be present. Truth be told I had come from that way only minutes before. Back then it didn’t seem so dark. The light had driven the shadows back and where I stood the light reigned supreme.

image

This is that same dark space only now the light is behind me, and only by a few feet. The light still rules but what I have found is that by stepping off into the direction that I must transverse I can see. No it is not as clear as I want but I have enough light to walk by.
When we first step out on faith onto the path God is calling us to it works the same way. At first with the light we have been given it seems that we are heading off into His will. The way looks dark up ahead but we are willing to go. When the light isn’t as bright as we want we get nervous and wonder are we in His will. The times that it is totally dark we will find that our eyes are closed. We are letting no light from God or His word get into our souls.
Psalms  119:105 “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.”
We are not walking without any light to see by. Yes, we may have to work a little harder to see the light so that we can see where to go, but that is God drawing us back to His will. One day we will look back and see where we have cone from…

image

…and no that it was the light of His word that lead us. Don’t be one of those who decides to live in the darkness of thus world, of the doubts that Satan casts about God’s plans, or of willful ignorance to what is out there.

Leave a Reply

