Contradictions

Contradiction: the assertion of the contrary or opposite.
Life seems to be that way. We look for one thing and get another. Growing up I wanted to drive, by the time I had finished high school I hated driving, and for the last 19 years I drive for a living and still hate driving. I despise money because all I can really equate it to is bills and more bills. Never enough money and always plenty of need. This morning I was thinking that since things tend to go the opposite or contrary way for me I should start hating being rich, lol!
As a Christian and a preacher of the Gospel I find my sinful flesh to be really bothersome. To be a Christian means to be Christ-like, behaving as He would yet too often I find myself giving in to temptation. It wasn’t the goal I had set for myself when I got up but I am still human. As one person has so aptly put it, I ain’t perfect just forgiven. Now I know that is no excuse but it is reality.
Paul put it this way in Romans 7:15-17 “For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. If the I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.” Even the great Apostle Paul had to deal with sin in his own life. The absence of sin will not take place till we leave this existence. So until eternity comes for us we must endure this contradiction to our spiritual nature that our physical nature drags us through. To err may be human but those who have been truly saved by Jesus Christ are to strive to avoid sin, 1 Corinthians 10:13. We can’t avoid the temptation but we can stay out of the sin it brings. That I suppose is a good contradiction.

Reference:
Dictionary.com

Leave a Reply

