A passing

2 Samuel 1:27 “How are the mighty fallen, and the weapons of war perished!” Here David is writing about his friend Jonathan and his dad Saul and their defeat in battle. They had lost and it had cost them their lives. Soon David will be made king and once he was firmly established as king he remembered his promise to Jonathan and took care of his son, Mephibosheth.

That morning however was a lousy day for David. It was news he hadn’t expected and while he was able to write the song that is recorded in this chapter it left him hurting. He had lost a friend and mentor.

For me today I was informed about the passing of a fella at the bakery. I wasn’t particularly close to him, he was the bosses boss. The few interactions I had with him I personally can’t complain about. Those times when he had to yell at me I deserved. I know others had a much more rocky relationship with him. Can’t say that the news hit me hard or anything, I knew he had been sick just hadn’t known he was that bad already.

Death is a part of life, thanks to Adam. But it doesn’t have to be the final word. Jesus came that we might have life and that more abundantly, John 10:10. How can we have more abundant life? By accepting Jesus as our Lord and Savior. By asking Jesus to forgive us of our sins and accept his sacrifice on Calvary as the payment for those sins. By asking Jesus to save us, believing that if we will then He will save us from eternity in Hell, Romans 10:9,10, 13.

Leave a Reply

