Does the evidence match up?

1 Samuel 15:13,14 “And Samuel came to Saul: and Saul said unto him, Blessed be thou of the LORD: I have performed the commandment of the LORD. And Samuel said, What meaneth then the bleating of the sheep in mine ears, and the lowing of the oxen which I hear?”
A few weeks back I was involved in an accident in my personnel car. I was traveling on a side street with the right of way and the other fellow was coming across my path. He had a stop sign which he blew through at probably 40 mph. I saw him in time to hit my brakes, not time enough to stop though. We met by accident and he fishtailed into a parked car. From there he tried to run but gave up when he saw me chasing him down. We both stopped about half a block away from the scene, left our cars, and walked back. Turned out that I had 2 witnesses to the accident that protected me from the law. Unfortunately he had no license or insurance so I am out of luck on getting my car fixed. When the police showed up I gave my account and he got their testimony then ruled in my favor. My evidence matched my testimony.
The other day one of my nursing homes ran out of bread and I was questioned as to which menu I am going off of. I was able to produce my copy of the menu and showed that I am on the correct week. Turns out when information changes on their end that they have to tell me as well. My evidence matched my testimony.
In our text though, Saul’s evidence didn’t match his testimony. He boasted about doing God’s commandment but Samuel had already heard otherwise from both God and the animals that were supposed to have been killed. The more Samuel pressed Saul the more his story changed. He had failed to follow God’s orders and tried blaming everyone else for his failure.
If the evidence will not match the testimony the person will be eventually caught. Lying solves nothing.

Leave a Reply

