Wait training part 2

Isaiah 40:31 “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength…”
Yesterday I joined a gym. I had to. Not because someone was forcing me to do it. My weigh has gone up and I have to lose 30 pounds by the end of January. Plus because of my daughter’s cerebral palsy I have to pick her up and carry her from time to time, she is not a baby anymore (insert groans from strained back). So getting in shape has become a must for me.
When I went to the gym yesterday I made sure to not over do it but still push myself enough to know that I had done something. Needless to say I didn’t last too long. It was the first time in years since I last was at a gym. In all I was there about an hour which included time in a massage chair afterward.
Here is the part I wanted to get today with this blog. I went to bed about an hour earlier than normal knowing my muscles needed the rest, I am out of shape. About 5 hours later I woke up afraid I had over slept and was surprised to find I still had plenty of time to sleep. When the alarm did go off I felt good, as if I had truly gotten 8 hours of rest. While I might not have done much at the gym in my mind my body had actually worked out and got it’s well deserved rest. So weight training can help make you feel better.
Spiritually speaking, waiting training can make us feel better. Listening to good preaching is good for us, like eating a good meal. But if all we do in our Christian lives is go to church, sing a couple of songs, hear the sermon, and go home to sit around till next Sunday we are hurting ourselves. We might be sitting there thinking that we are just waiting on God to bless us so what more needs to be done? We are waiting aren’t we? Such waiting is being lethargic, being slothful. A life style of no movement makes us fat and lazy, the same applies spiritually. The longer we set around the harder to get up and moving. Our walk with the Lord is just that, a walk (exercise). After hearing the sermon that has been preached we need to apply it to our own lives and pass it on to others. Spend time in God’s word during the course of the week and pray about everything. These things exercise our faith. What they do is make us feel better, grow stronger, and better rested when we go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

