Lessons in no money

The other day I was robbed at gun point while at work. The thief took all the my flashlight, utility knife, and all the money I had on me. I don’t feel violated but it did leave me feeling exposed. The thought that now he knows he can do it to me is a little unnerving. All praise goes to Jesus for keeping me safe.
Now looking back I am trying to learn from this incident and see what I could have done differently. The thing is this though aside from that I need to lean more on God than I do the things I am noticing are not what I expected.
For one thing I have never seemingly felt so hungry as I did after it took place. All those hours without any money in pocket. I had no freedom to stop and do as I wanted. No money to even buy a bag of chips. My soul, how people must feel who hardly ever have money! I have been truly blessed and yet have taken it for granted. To not even have the freedom to choose to do something for myself, again another thing I have not appreciated in the slightest.
With no money in my pocket there is a feeling of worthlessness. Why? Because I feel like I can’t even take care of my family. It is was thing to be robbed and not physically harmed but it is something else altogether to feel so helpless that you wonder would the family be better off without my dead weight around.
But then the Lord sends down His love. Once I got done with the cop I said a quick prayer and thanked God for protecting me. While I was waiting for the cop I had even remembered a verse that someone had posted on Facebook just a few hour before, Proverbs 3:25,26 “Be not afraid of sudden fear, neither of the desolation of the wicked, when it comes. For the LORD shall be thy confidence, and shall keep thy foot from being taken.” I honestly can’t say where I have seen that person post scripture so late at night but I know God had already sent it ahead to bring me comfort when the moment came. God also went a step further, after posting on Facebook at few stops down the road asking for prayer several responded. Later that afternoon once I had told my wife what had happened I posted on Facebook what had taken place. Again another outpouring of concern for me that in all honesty I did not expect.
We get so caught up with money, and I for one hate it but understand it to be a necessary evil. Sooner than we think money becomes more important to us than we realize. Perhaps just a crutch we lean on or for far to many their god. At the time of this writing I still have no money, he took all I had left, so I must learn to lean more on God and keep it that way.

2 thoughts on “Lessons in no money

  1. There is no other way to have handled the situation. Satan has made thugs non respective of people’s belongings, valuables, and even lives. Had you even flinched who knows what the ending to this story would have been. God guided you every step of the way and will now provide.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

