The sin of omission

James 4:17 “Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin.”
So knowing what to do but not following through on doing it is a sin, and more specifically the sin of omission. The bad part is that many of us do this without even thinking about it. We one way or another ignore our responsibility, maybe get comfortable, or get lazy and out it off till we run out of time or forget it. I am guilty of all of that.
Yesterday I began to do something without even considering what I was doing. But I believe that it was God answering a part of my prayer for help in doing a better job of studying. Lately it seems that on Facebook I only see postings from a couple of dozen people and pages yet I have over 400 friends and lost count of how many pages I have liked. So I got frustrated with this and began “unliking” pages. This was in hopes of forcing Facebook to show me more of my friends. This morning I got up and checked. Sure enough I saw more people and pages that I had forgotten about because I hadn’t been shown anything from them in months.
It seems Facebook gets lazy too and goes about giving you more of the most recent likes and ignores the older ones. Fine. But it also got me to thinking about myself. I too am getting lazy in the same regard. All I seemingly do is focus on the stuff I am currently doing making it harder to work on the things that I need to do but have allowed to go to the “back burner”.  Those making the sin of omission very real in my life.
The writer of Hebrews tells us what to do about it. In 12:1 we read “Wherefore seeing are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us…”. See “every weight” is not the same as sin. However it can quickly become sin when it gets in the way and we start omitting doing the things we are supposed to do. So just as I had to do some cleaning on my news feed I have things in my life that also must be cleaned out and laid aside. The sin of omission is very real and just as dangerous as any sin of commission

Leave a Reply

