Should we go to church?

I remember back in 1991 me, my mother, my aunt, and my cousin made a trip down to Tennessee to visit some family and on our return trip we stopped at my grandmother’s place in southern Indiana. My grandmother and her live-in boyfriend knew I had answered the call to preach the previous spring and I was warned by both my mom and aunt to be careful about what I said. This was to be especially true about going to church. The boyfriend was dead set against it and he “knew” that the Bible didn’t say one word about Christians having to go to church. Being under my mothers authority and no time to study up on the subject so that I could show him what the Bible says I yielded and just let him rattle on about it. Once he got tired of talking, the one sided conversation was over and he went to doing whatever it was he was gonna do.
I honestly don’t comprehend such attitudes by those who claim to be saved. When you are dating someone exclusively you want to know more about them and be around them as much as possible. Yes there are those times when you want to be alone so hang out with other people but nothing like “I’m glad were together, now go away and I’ll see you around sometime”.
To begin with, if a person never has any desire to be in church they need to check their salvation. Because once you are saved you have entered into a relationship with Jesus Christ. It might be you were never saved to begin with or you have grown cold and need to get reacquainted with Him.
My work schedule and DOT regulations make it difficult for me to go to Sunday Night services so I do understand if the job holds you back some. Midweek service is difficult for my wife and daughter to come because of her homework and getting her home. It is those who could come but have no desire that puzzle me.
The writer of Hebrews put it this way in 10:25 “Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is, but encouraging one another and so much the more, as you see the day approaching.” The day that is approaching is the day Jesus comes for His church (1 Thessalonians 4:14-18).
Yes the church is not the building, we just call it the church but the church is those who have been saved or called out (separated). The point is that we need to meet together to help one another. Acts tells us that every time Paul entered into a city he went straight for the synagogue because that is where the people who were seeking God were at, and then he would spread out into the city, preach, lead people to Christ, and get them into church so they could grow spiritually.
When Peter was locked up and seemingly about to be executed the believers all got together in someone’s house. Was this a proper church? Yes because it was a prayer meeting of the believers, the building is only a building. I have had the privilege of holding church services in the dining hall of the local nursing home, a conference center in the middle of a city park, conference rooms in motels, and even in someone’s home. Matthew 18:20 “For where two or three are gathered together in mine name, there am I in the midst of them” that’s what Jesus plainly declared.
Can we worship at home then? Yeah, but will you? Distractions come awful easy at home. Do we really need to go to church more than once a week? If you only ate 1 day out of the week how long would you last? Home Bible study is good, praying at home is good, but fellowship with others believers is important. If it weren’t God wouldn’t have made us social creatures, some more so than others.
In my humble opinion we need to go to church as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

