Serving where you are called

Being on light duty here these past few weeks has not been the easiest thing. The pain in my head and neck and numbness in my arm and hand are not very pleasant to say the least.
As that I am on light duty I still have to do some work. One of those tasks has been to clean the toilet.

image

Is it fun? Is it menial and subservient? Perhaps. Is it a needed unsung job? Yep. If no one ever cleaned it, eventually it would get very nasty and maybe even unusable. That is not an option, especially given as how 40 some guys use this one toilet.
As I was progressing through such jobs during the day I got to thinking about something king David said in Psalms 84:10 “… I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness.” Here the king of Israel declared very plainly that he would rather serve by doing a menial subservient job in God’s house than to be living out in open sin or wickedness. That tells me that if God has called me to clean the toilet at church I need to do so or I will be living in wickedness (open sin and rebellion).

One thought on “Serving where you are called

Leave a Reply

