Keep seeking till you get the answer

A couple of weeks ago my family stopped at Memories Pizza in Walkerton Indiana before a church service. On each of the tables is a cheap little game to entertain their guests while they wait for their delicious pizza. Our table had a combo kit and one of the games was Pick Up Sticks.

image

I remembered this game from my youth but my wife and daughter had never seen it. So I took advantage of their curiosity and started the game. My wife instantly realized the potential to help our daughter and her fine motor skills. You must be precise and not move any other sticks when you pick up your chosen stick. Since then we have been searching for our own set.
I guess the fact that my wife had never heard of the game should have been a clue as to how difficult it would be to find this game. We have searched the internet. Dollar stores and toy stores alike have been searched. People have said how surprised they were that their store didn’t carry it or that they had recently stopped carrying them. As I went to finish my shopping I stopped at a Christian book store to see if they had any books I would be interested in, which they didn’t. My bladder made a request to be emptied so I made my way to their washroom which took me through their small toy section. And their it was, a container of Pick Up Sticks. These will help my daughter.
Jesus talked about this effort in Matthew 7:7,8 “Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you: For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.”
What Jesus said here is a command, one that we as believers are to always be doing when it comes to God, His word, and His will. Don’t stop looking because others have. Keep searching because in your effort to know God better He will bless you because you will be continuing in faith. Faith that God wants you to experience Him more and know Him better. This isn’t about riches or health but about your relationship with God.

One thought on “Keep seeking till you get the answer

Leave a Reply

