Does God have nightmares?

I had another rough night of sleeping the other night. Not so much from the pain and discomfort in my neck due to the accident. No, this was because of some bad dreams and nightmares.
Just before bedtime my wife had informed our daughter it was time for bed, she very plainly said “I don’t care”. Well around this house dad and mom are still dad and mom and those living under my roof will respect that. She got a spanking for what she said along with the reminder as to who God has placed in charge. For me though all my dreams that night were about my daughter getting in trouble for saying and doing things she shouldn’t have. It was terrible, I love my daughter and don’t want to punish her.
That lead to this thought, does God have nightmares? To start let’s clear one thing up Psalms 121:4 “Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.” God Almighty never has to even take a nap let alone sleep. Sleep is for us humans. Now in Mark 4:38 we find this about Jesus, “And he was in the hinder part of the ship, asleep on a pillow”. When here in his 100% human body Jesus who was also 100% God had to sleep. I don’t know if He dreamed any. What I do know is that most dreams and nightmares I can recall are centered around lust (lust isn’t just sex but anything we crave can be a lust such as food or people or cars etc.) laziness (not working even though I should and can) nightmares are generally about being afraid and fear is the opposite of faith.
Well God doesn’t sin so that basically eliminates all of that. So does God have nightmares? In the loosest sense of the word, yes. His nightmares are when His children disobey Him and get out into sin. Not that He has been caught by surprise. Nor has it ruined His plans. It is about His children who are called by His Holy name living in sin with His Holy Spirit living inside of us, 1 Corinthians 6:19. That means the Holy Spirit, the 3rd member of the trinity, has to go through that sin that we are enjoying. For Him that is Holy that is a real nightmare.

2 thoughts on “Does God have nightmares?

Leave a Reply

