A bit of dirt

Over the years whenever I have heard someone is going some place on vacation I have tried to ask them to bring me back some sand from their destination. One couple brought me back a cup full of salt from Salt Lake. A coworker of mine one time brought me back a glass jar full of dirt from Tennessee, with a note attached hoping that it reminds me of home. Yes I am from the Chicagoland area but I several family members living down there and spent several weeks over the years down there with my parents. Tennessee is an adopted home.
2 Kings 5:17 “And Naaman said, Shall there not then, I pray thee, be given to thy servant two mules’ burden of earth? for thy servant will henceforth offer neither burnt offering nor sacrifice unto other gods, but unto the LORD.”

Naaman wasn’t looking to worship the ground he was bringing back with him, he was looking for a reminder of his new commitment. Something he could look to and know that his new God had healed him. That the God of Israel was now his God too. Reminders like that can be powerful and good.

Leave a Reply

