Just how clean do you want it?

Since I am on light duty one of the things I get to do is occasionally clean the toilets. Our last supply order was wrong and we received no toilet bowl cleaner. This time we got it.

The big deal about that is that in between deliveries the women started complaining that their toilet had black stuff in it. Without the proper cleaning supplies I admitI made a very weak effort to get to the root of the problem. In all honesty I expected it just needed a good cleaning, one it would get when the right stuff came in. Well it did and I got to cleaning. Then I took off the lid to see if there was anything there.

This actually is from the men’s room and after I had already started to deep clean it, the women’s was far worse- very black. I scrubbed sprayed different cleaners and flushed the system often in an effort to get those tanks as clean as possible. It wasn’t glorious but it was needed.

It reminded me of Psalms 51:2 “Wash me throughly from mine iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin.” That word “throughly” is an interesting word. The word could be used in regards to abundance, have more, or completely but there is one other meaning. It can also mean be in authority. Yeah David wanted to be completely cleaned but in order to do so a deeper, more thorough cleaning was required. One that only God can do. For God though such a cleaning is glorious because it means we have brought it all to Him and turned over that complete authority to Him. 

How clean do we really want to be with Him?

Leave a Reply

