I didn’t ask for it.

During my time spent on light duty one of the tasks I have is to throw out the stale bread from the warehouse. The stale bread that the drivers bring back they are supposed to throw out themselves. One day I got started late due to other responsibilities. As a result I was still pitching the old bread when the drivers began coming back with rheir stale. Since I was already doing this task I just told the drivers to leave it there and I would take care of it. They were thankful because it meant they didn’t have to do it themselves and got to leave that much sooner. Those fellas didn’t ask for it I just volunteered to do it. It wasn’t even a matter of that they deserved it either, in fact I could have easily jusr stepped aside and let them work for themselves, but in all honesty I just felt like doing it (more of the Holy Spirit directing me so I could write about it).

Humanly speaking I am sure this is not the first time in human history that something like that has happened nor will it most likely be the last either. Spiritually speaking though I do have a by far greater example of that principle. Paul wrote about it in Romans 5:8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

None of us asked God to do anything for us. We each had a job to do which to be perfectly honest not one human being could ever do for themself. That job was to fulfill the law and thereby save ourselves but as I said we couldn’t do it. In fact we would never have asked God to do it either because we are such sinful creatures. Without God doing what He did we would never have had a chance for salvation. 

I didn’t ask for it yet He made a way for me to be saved. While we are at it I didn’t even know that I needed Him but yet He sent someone to tell me that I needed Him. Jesus came to this Earth to buy salvation for a world that didn’t ask Him for it. The hardest part of salvation is done, all that is required of man is to accept His free gift which He does ask that we do.

Leave a Reply

